Prayer Group

St. Mary’s Orthodox Church, Konni was consecrated in the year 1921; since then the church has been growing in strength and functioning in various fields. In the initial period, the membership was very small and the views and needs of the church could easily be communicated to all the members instantly; but with the increase in membership, communication between the church and its members became difficult; hence the need for splitting up the membership into area- wise for better interaction among the members was thought of and the prayer groups were formed. At the start the Prayer Groups were named as per the area name but later under the leadership of the Vicar, Rev. Saji Thomas Tharayil, the names were changed and biblical names were assigned in the year 2012.

At present, there are 10 prayer groups managed by Unit Secretary of each group. All the prayer groups meet on Sundays after the morning service at a member’s house as decided in the previous meeting. The views of the members and the church news are discussed after the prayer and the Unit Secretary communicates the decisions to the Office Bearers for taking decisions.

Since there was no interaction among the prayer groups it was decided to have a combined Prayer Group managed by the President, Secretary and Vice President. The Vicar is the President and the Secretary and the Vice President are elected from the General Body for a period of three years. The Combined Prayer Group meeting is held in the church once in three months. The office bearers visits the units at regular intervals to garner views and ideas from the members.

Prayer Group Office Bearers